Derek Landy – Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire [#2]

playing_with_fire  Alrighty, here comes the second book on my favorite skeletal detective, Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire, by the marvelous wordsmith Derek Landy (ISBN 0007257031; 320p.; Goodreads). Author seems to have improved even more on his character speech and jokes, and Skulduggery seems to have improved on throwing tricks out of his sleeves! Or fists, for that matter! And from my praises, I hope, you already know how I’ll rate this book.

In the war long ago, those who followed the vicious gods called Faceless Ones were defeated, but not eradicated. A truce was made, fragile and as it turned out – not very lasting. Some lingered on the dark side out of sheer convenience, a quick way to gain power, others just liked to be bad. But then there were those who believed in their gods with zealous fever. And one of those madmen just got out of prison, and is very up for the task of “fixing” the world by calling his gods back into it. How did he get out of the damned place? Who helped him and why? Sounds like a case for Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain!

If this is my last book of 2015, then I end the year well (even if my read list is hitting the lowest of the low). I think I finally again found a book series that I can follow without grinding my teeth! So I give the book 5 out of 5 and rest my case.

Small warning: killing is brutal and detailed in this. There’s no torture scenes, but you can imagine the pain a man feels when his skin rips off anyway. Also: skeletons, giant spiders…

Categories: 5-5, Books of Occult, Books of Supernaturals, Books: Everything, Fantasy Books, Gothic Books, Nosferatu Books | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

