Neil Gaiman – Trigger Warning

22522808  Short story collections are the most difficult when it comes to making a review. Even if you don’t like it whole, it’s just somehow tough to explain what was it. But “Trigger Warning” by Neil Gaiman (ISBN 0062330268; 310p.; Goodreads) wasn’t bad at all, and therefor got even harder when it came to me writing down the thoughts of so why did I like it.

Stories are very varied and I do believe everyone would find at least one they’d like among them. Simple ones, complex ones, disturbing ones, scary, fantastic, etc. One has Dr Who as main character, another – Mr Sherlock Holmes himself. That one is among the two favorites of mine. Sherlock is an old man, the beekeeper Mr Holmes. He travels out to far Asia in search of strong enough bees to withstand an ancient experiment… And the other one was The Man Who Forgot Ray Bradbury. Now this one hits home, for I felt like author described my very brain in it, with a hole in a shelf where a dictionary used to be, and another hole for a word that went missing, with only descriptions left of what that thing was.

All in all, I really did love this book, this collection. The fantasy stories were the best, in my opinion, so I’ll look into whether Neil Gaiman has more of that Tolkien-vibe filled works in his repertuare. The collection gets a firm 4 out of 5 from me. It missed just a little tiny something to be loved completely. Still, very recommendable.

Categories: 4-5, Books, Books of Occult, Books of Supernaturals, Fantasy Books, Gothic Books, Nosferatu Books | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman – Trigger Warning

  1. you just made me look through my book colection and i have to say i really only own very few short story books… strange, i like reading those a lot…

    • I don’t mind them, while not the biggest fan. But I too only have very few of those! Maybe the authors we like don’t write many of those?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

