How Roses Eternal are born

RosesEternal_1

  • First we get the aqua colors and get them a little soggy. You might not want to do this if you have decent kind of aqua colors, but mine turn into wet-chalk-like substance, so I must.
  • I paint the cabochon setting black. Used to use black paper, but figured black paint is to my advantage when it comes to shadows.
  • Start with the darkest color of usable red. I use pure red or add a speck of black in it. That is advisable.

RoseEternal_2

  • Next I mix up some pink. It has to be a shade of dusty dry pink rose, so the basic one already pre-given in the pallet doesn’t fit my needs. Might fit yours tho, give it a shot.
  • Dab the light with pink. Then with pure white. You can play around a bit and make dew drops. Did it a couple times, it can really save a slightly messy looking miniature.
  • I don’t usually do mid-shade for the stems and leafs, but you can. And I should, and you should probably too.

RosesEternal_3

  • Instead I just dab basic green with pure white where light would hit it the hardest. I admit, this is a little messy. Mostly because my best and most favorite paintbrush has met its end.
  • Enamel.
  • Just enough of it to cover up the picture.
  • I hold it in pliers and heat it over an open flame of a candle since I don’t have a heat gun. I can’t advice this.

RosesEternal_4

  • It melts and it hardens, making a gorgeous glass-like shine over the miniature. Much like resin. Can’t say what I prefer, since I didn’t work with resin. I do, on the other hand, have a couple pendants made with resin-finish. Or should I say had? Resin turned yellow and popped off completely, besides scratching up. With enamel – you can always re-heat it, it’ll melt and re-harden and be as good as new, as long as you don’t burn it up.

IMG_4656And this is the finished product that you can see on my [DeviantArt], buy on [Etsy], or like on [Facebook]. Or follow me on Twitter][Tumblr

Categories: My Work, The Afterlife | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

