William Gibson – Neuromancer [Sprawl 1#]

Neuromancer_1  Cyberpunk genre was always to my liking, from the first time I encountered it. But only in the past few years I gave it a little more research. Down below I’ll add a video by one of my favorite YouTubers, one I shared before already. It explains what Cyberpunk is and why it fits people like me so well. All that said, I think no one was much surprised in the book club, when for my turn I chose one of the most influential (and among the first ever too) cyberpunk genre books, first in the trilogy of the Sprawl: “Neuromancer” by William Gibson (ISBN 04415695995; 271p., Goodreads).

Case is what they call a Cowboy. A “new type” of hackers who are able to jack in directly into the cyberspace (with tools, of course, much like those of Matrix or even Ghost in the Shell), where they’re irreplaceable. And it’s not that Case was any more talented than the next guy, but he loved his job and was passionate about it, thus maybe a little more worthy than the next guy, when it comes to choosing a cowboy for a job. Yet he made a mistake he promised himself not to make, ever: he stole from his boss and got his neuro system burned and messed up for it, the bit that allowed access to the matrix, the cyberspace. And not even the darkest, the deepest parts of eternal night city of Sprawl had a cure for him. Thus he killed and stole to survive, all the while dreaming the grid or not sleeping at all.

One night Case finds himself staring at his stars. Are they his fate? The stars he were looking at were cold, and shiny chrome of a shuriken. And maybe he wished upon this star, falling, flying or hanging on an invisible thread. Eitherway, out of the depths of the cyberspace came a native. Came in many forms, shapes and events, but that didn’t matter. The only thing that truly, truly mattered to Case was that he or rather it, had a cure for him. Now the question is: why would an AI of such extreme complexity and abilities, out of all the cowboys available, choose the broken one?

I admit, there were parts I wasn’t able to understand. And there were also parts that were very difficult to read, not sure whether because of the writing style, or my lack in English. Yet. The story is fast-paced, which I always appreciate. It’s ever changing, full of secrets we’re allowed to enjoy when the answers are finally given. Gloom and Doom of a dystopian, and hyperconnected world wasn’t irritating, as it sometimes is, rather just a fact in the background, some sort of a thing happening behind the grid screen of the matrix. I enjoyed it a lot, no matter how slow of a read it was (with all the fast pace of the story) and I will give it a very firm 4 out of 5. I’d give it a 4.5, but I’m not up to split the points. And I do intend to read the other two books too. Just think about it: it took a cyberspace native to fix a human where the human had a connection to the cyberspace. And that last chapter? The signal that AI got? Where from!…

To those who have not read anything of cyberpunk and are not yet sure about it either, here’s one of the book club members, also new to the genre: P.S. I love that book – Neuromancer

Categories: 4-5, Books, The Afterlife | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “William Gibson – Neuromancer [Sprawl 1#]

  1. Pingback: 2015, Thank You | Night Mode

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

