Elif Shafak – The Forty Rules of Love

fortyrulesoflove  When heroes are well written. When story is chaotic, but well put together. And when you still only like one character, an assassin with nickname Jackal’s Head, you should come to a conclusion that maybe, just bloody maybe you should stop reading these sort of books at all. You know how they say – you can’t make one open their eyes if they’re unwilling to see. So maybe I’m unwilling and do not care for either the “love is the most important thing in the world” or the “the god is within you”, but since I did pay the tribute and read this book, I will tell you what I thought of it in the kindest way I can. I understand that Elif Shafak book “The Forty Rules of Love” is meant for kind-hearted lot, or those who think themselves so, and I do dearly hope that it made some people more hopeful, some people – into better people, and so on. But I have no illusions, nor any wishes for it either, so here it goes.
Ella is a housewife, as simple as they come. With three children and a cheating husband who, as in every book of this sort, feels no remorse of what he did, merely knows the right words to speak, she finally is bored enough one day to mention, merely mention that maybe she could start working. As I understood, she didn’t really care to start working, just said so, for it made sense. We speak things that make sense often, while not even meaning it, so I get it. But there, bam, her husband found her a job in a blink. And a good one too! Her work consists out of reading books, writing reviews and someone above her will decide whether the book will be worth to be publishes. Now, you might not know this, but I love, oh just bloody love the books about literature changing people, like Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, but this wasn’t it. And I am not sure why. Whether the topic of loves and gods simply rubbed me the wrong way (you see, I understand it, I do, I simply find these books to be written and rewritten so often with different names of the heroes, that I’m sick of everyone quoting me texts of importance of love and god in your heart. I may not love all the humanity, but I’m not a dick towards it, and I do believe it makes me a decent person what can’t be said about many a love seeker), or is it that old quote by someone, claiming that books above two hundred pages already smell of graphomania, sand spilling from an empty bucket into a bucket lacking the bottom. For Ella did change alright, and did as good as the same thing the little Seamstress did, but for a fairly different reason. One went on for another, and the other went on for herself!
A very big con goes to this book for telling every major ending event in the beginning of the book. Not only you kept telling me how we can interpret words “beat your wife into submission” in a different way that means “no, don’t beat your wife, just talk to her”, but you also told me every little turn and twist of the book too? I just took a straight line in this flat ride, really? Why would you do that? It works in so little occasions, so little, that it truly has to be one damn Something of a book. The only actual fate that we knew nothing of was the author of that “Sweet Blasphemy” Ella was reading, Aziz. And again, the only person I truly liked in it was the truly dual being my friend called “merely a tool” – Jackal’s Head, the assassin (and all those rumors and years indicate it all taking part in around Altair’s times, so I could’ve believed Shams is actually an Assassin, believe you me, that would’ve made sense). He was cruel alright, but had doubts in his actions when others went head-on. And thus now I’m in a conflict. How will I rate a well written book when the topic in it was half-handed? It’s chewed up. I’ve read it before. I’ve seen it before. And every time it’s in the places filled with sand and roses, with a prayer call early in the morning. I will give the book 3 out of 5 to be fair and not rate it on my sheer opinions. Yet I will also refrain from any recommendations. I honestly don’t know anyone besides my own mother who would like this book.

Categories: Books | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

