Cybernatural and Cyberpunk

Soundtrack: Archive – Bullets

I really don’t want this blog to turn into a mere book-blog, so in due time I will correct the categories there on the right. And we’ll talk cyberpunk now. I got the idea since I saw that trailer for Cybernatural (Unfriended), here, have the trailer (the one on imdb is better, but I can’t post it here, so I’ll just give you the link: Cybernatural Trailer).


I do love movies on cyberspace. I guess it makes me feel a little more safe, more real, than movies of the dangers and loves outside of it. Yes, I said it. Dangers AND loves. I’m a little unstable person, thus internet is perfect to keep my mind in tact. Be it a cat video, or an endless tumblr scroll. Some time in all of this, it made me more real here than out there, in the outernet or real life world. Many things no one out here knows and might never know, and yet I am fairly honest in here. Here I can tell you what I keep secret from my irl friends, because here I found more understanding. Thus, only natural that love tragedy in Suicide Room was more real for me than, say, The Fault in Our Stars. I just always lived in fictional worlds. And before you say internet is thus evil, I will just say I’m a reader and I have proof which is all placed right here, in this same blog. Disconnect my internet and I will turn to the books, as I do every morning, for I never turn my computer sooner than noon unless there’s some sort of special situation. Yet, since I am hyperconnected – I don’t have to resort to ONLY the books.
And now, more than ever, we all, bit by bit, are becoming hyperconnected. I’d say “At last! We’re living the Cyberpunk!”, but then I’m reminded of Cyberpunk rules. Dystopia. Kiri says it, if you’re not completely familiar with what Cyberpunk is:

  And does it not yet fit us? We just added the hyperconnection to dystopia, but it was always here, it seems, one way or another. We seem to have always been going to crap. We fight each other, in groups or one-on-one. And what for? Well, hell knows, really. On top of it, we’re very literally ruining the only home we ALL have, our Earth! And yet… We can turn away and look at that beautiful picture of snow-covered spruce in google image search. We can turn the map on and stand staring into Eiffel Tower, all in our dark warm rooms, on our squeaky chairs. We can forget the wars and rather fight our own, make our own history and… If we fail – start again, as a different person. This made me yet again think: so are we saturating our shortened life-span in here? Are we becoming another race then? Say, well, just entertain the thought for a moment, there were elves. They lived for long thousands of years, thus aging slow and taking it slow. We, humans, lived barely to what, a hundred? Thus no longer taking it slow. And then there’s the e-we, e-humans. Some of us live less than a day, less than two minutes, just enough to write a comment. Is that why we saturate all our emotions into those? The raw moment anger, the indescribable joy? What are we even anymore? The cybernation, fighting our wars, living our lives, like gods or schitzophrenics, often having more than one life at once. Or are we maybe also somehow Cybernatural with our ability to turn into beings just like that?

Categories: The Afterlife, The Cyberlife | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cybernatural and Cyberpunk

  1. Pingback: 2015, Thank You | Night Mode

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

