Neil Gaiman – Stardust

Stardust-book Once, I didn’t buy this book because it had a [2] on it’s narrow little back. Then someone explained me that it means nothing, for I thought the book might be split in two and I just can’t see the first part. But by the time I figured it out, I couldn’t find it in the stores anymore and I wasn’t much up to seek it second-hand. Thus only quite recently I bought Neil Gaiman “Stardust”, for around 3 dollars on sale. Likely one of the last copies of this particular translation.
Most have probably already watched the movie by same title, based on this book, thus right away I will say – I liked the movie better. The book was a tiny bit too slow paced for me. Lots of walking and general “going” somewhere, which is hard to fill, yet since Davit Gaider in his Dragon Age series managed, I thought maybe Neil Gaiman might be as good as Tolkien in it. Sadly, this book is an exception, YET! It’s still a wonderful book.
Tristram, our forever hungry and starving hero was always somehow odd among the people in The Wall Village (pardon me if I misspell things, as I said, I read translation of this book). Yet just like every other male in there, he fell in love with the beautiful and secretly shallow Victoria. In fact, he was so crazy about her, that one night, walking her home, when they saw a falling star somewhere behind The Wall, he asked her if she’d agree to marry him were he to bring that star back to her. Victoria, thinking the boy mad – agreed, laughing aloud, not really expecting him to actually go, not that anyone would allow him to pass the breach in the Wall anyways, it’s always guarded, and if, by some miracle, he did venture out – he’d most likely die in the Fairy-Tale land beyond The Wall.
But Tristram managed to get out. He even managed to find the Star. Problem is, the Star isn’t a diamond or any stone at all, as he expected. In fact, she doesn’t want to go with him… And yet many others wish to find her, including the Witch Queens!
There’s plenty adventure, thus don’t get me wrong when I say the book is slow. There are murderous trees, Lions fighting Unicorns for crowns, brothers, hunting each other down for a chance to rule Stormhold, wicked witches and pirates in the sky. It’s a great and simple book, definitely something one can rest their minds with. Make yourself a cup of cocoa, find yourself a nice, well lit spot where people would allow you some peace, and go ahead. I’ll give it only 4 out of 5, but I’m quite happy I bought it and have my own copy.

Categories: Books of Supernaturals, Books: Everything | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Neil Gaiman – Stardust

  1. This and “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” are my favorite works by the author. There was something about this book that made me feel like a child again, in the best of ways

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

