Things to remember, Things to forget

Let me start with pretty little pictures for my mother, for she won’t read this in English anyways. I’ll remind you that I will be back on April 1st, but probably will write a blog only on around the 2nd, mostly because we usually return home very late in the night. Hope for good weather for us, okay?

010

 

The Car Boot Sale in Swanley gave me plenty of great book-y treasures. Like the one above. These are first ten Charlaine Harris books on Sookie Stackhouse, I paid 5 pounds for all pack of brand new, unopened pack. And some part of me still whispers I should’ve tried cutting the price. But the lad looked so very cold… It was windy, drizzly and I really wanted these.
001

Earlier in the week got these for a friend. He made a great logo for my sister’s project, and since he’s a fan, this is my thanks. Not just this, but other Doctor-Who item I can’t show, mostly because I don’t want to tease other Whovians in my friend list.

Now, the stuff here. First days were the most adventurous for me, I guess. I heard a granny claim she liked Retro before it was fashionable. Then I saw a girl fall backwards on an up-going escalator and black out (she received all the help possible and I didn’t stand gawking there either). I drank a ton of Energy Drinks but didn’t find my Relentless Passion. Found the Immortal one thou, which is just as good. Plus, RockStar made some new ones, like sour green apple, which is pure marvel. Then I ate Wonka bar, yes, Wonka chocolate bar. Then another one. And another one. And then I figured I’m fat and  shouldn’t have, but… Who am I kidding, I don’t regret a bit! Eitherway I’m walking a lot, I get plenty of exercise! And the weather is warm and nice.

003

Second-hand stores are the greatest. I got a luggage worth of books, neither more expensive than 5 pounds (10 dollars or so), which I paid for my own stupidity of not taking the change, out of excitement, I guess. Even today I came back home with 13 books in hands and I am getting worried of how will they all be packed and sent back home. Or where I’ll put them when I’m back. Many are meant for friends thought, so it’s not that bad. Like half the Sookie’s lot will go to friends, Hannibal, Vampire Rites and so on. Then again, best of the best are for me. Like Dracula! The book so far is not too great, Humphrey made a better job, but I won’t look the gifted horse in the teeth – I found it, I bought it, I will love it and cherish it.

drac 005

 

What else, what else? Well, today as I went back home, I decided I’ll pick out the change out of my broken-apart wallet and go around the second-hand stores nearby, and maybe get myself another energy drink (don’t get me wrong, I care non for the energy or caffeine. It’s the taste that I love!), so I fish out 1.30, and since 10 cents are in fives and I’m afraid to lose them, I take 1.20 and go out. First goal – the second-hand store, the only one I didn’t go into today (actually, it’s all “yesterday” now), because I will always, always rather buy books than unnecessary treats for myself. Book is a greater treat. But there I am, looking and looking and nothing good catches my eyes. Hard-cover are 0.30 and the paperbacks are 0.20 and THERE! Fourth book of Anne Rice‘s Vampire Chronicles The Body Thief. I’m trying to collect all ten books (and the plus ones if I can find those, like Vampire Vittorio and Pandora) for TWO of my friends, so since I found only the first one (Interview with the Vampire), it’s an obvious choice that the fourth one will go to the girl who already has three of her own. The cover is all battered and book seems… Believe it or not – sandy (and sand doesn’t look like anything from Gobi…), but 0.20 is not a price you seek high quality of material in. It’s the inside that matters for any price. I went to cash-register and the lady there was putting hangers on this metal rod, trying to slide a ton of them at once. As I came closer she probably assumed she needs to move faster to get to me and accidentally dropped most of them. She turns to me, with a smile and says: You’ve been waiting for me to do that, weren’t you? We laughed and I went off with my book! And thus, since I only found one book, I did indeed get a RockStar and finished it with a cup of sour watermelon gummies, while watching Sherlock (BBC) with commentaries. “THE WOMAN WOMAN!”.

001

Categories: About Msg2TheMing, Books of Supernaturals, Books: Dracula, Books: Everything, Little Joys, Nosferatu Books, Travel, Treasures, Vlad Dracula III | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

