Haruki Murakami – Norwegian Wood

NorwegianWood

At some point I will put a box on the right with “Reading Now” in it, otherwise I will keep skipping reviews on some of the books. This time I speak of Haruki Murakami‘s “Norwegian Wood“, instead of William Peter BlattyThe Exorcist” (In short – I’d give it 3 out of 5, just because it was a torture how slowly they moved forwards with the plot). So. HM. This book was on my “To Read” list for forever and I kept promising I will get to it soon to all my readers who are fans of Murakami, and at last I managed. Yet it took me almost full two weeks to reach the end of this book! And I don’t know why for it was pretty damn good one.

I admit, I’m glad I didn’t start reading Murakami from this book. Now I view author as the man who managed to create a world within a world, who has strange passion for ears and food, and there’s strange magic everywhere around his characters. But this book was nonetheless great. It’s told from Toru’s perspective, a young student, who lives in one of those all-boys dorms, with all it’s filth and assholes. When he was seventeen – his best friend killed himself, leaving hurt both him and his girlfriend, a girl Toru loves just as much. Alone in this world they try to support each other, for they both loved Kidzuki and he left them both to live with this void. Yet, in the end it’s clear that this is a personal fight each will have to fight alone.

As we watch Toru live a simple and a rather poor life, meeting new people, losing people, we see the philosophy of life and death flourish in him. If not careful, with this book one might leave anxious of death, for there’s much of it everywhere. And while this book was as always – a bit stretched, and lacked the fun bits from Murakami, plus some sex scenes were completely out of the place, in the end it was an easy and interesting read, so I’ll give it a 4 out of 5.

Categories: Books: Everything | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

