Let’s talk theatre

I’m a fan, yes. And it’s not just classics, no, the broadway, the burlesque, the shimmery outfits and kitschy jokes, it all suits me well. As I mentioned before, December (I do believe it all happened in December, counting time is a bit difficult right now) was my month of culture. Some things I saw online on live broadcasts, provided free by specific channels on television and internet, in hopes to make people a little better, I guess. To some I went. I will mention only two most important ones tho. “Hamlet” and “Prima Donnas“.

Hamlet I saw online, thanks to a friend who never ceases to fill my life with such things. It was the last performance-play of Hamlet by those classic-here (Lithuania) actors and that director, namely Eimuntas Nekroshius (Nekrošius). I didn’t turn it on on time, at the moment I began – Hamlet was already making a deal with his deceased father and first thing that happened was I got cold by watching Hamlet put his feet onto an ice block! (it’s partially modern take on Hamlet, there was a lot of ice, metaphoric items and such, all dark, all cold) Must say I never saw those people perform before, as far as I can remember, but I was struck speechless. Ophelia was never as tragic. Hamlet was never this pure in his actions. And I don’t even like Shakespeare that much!

You know the story, so I will not repeat it. I will just say that this play, this particular one, stands with the movie for me. If not above. Actors were older, but they performed this so many times – it was almost an alter ego to them. I am indeed a little sad I never saw this performed at spot, but never the less I saw it live and didn’t miss the last opportunity. Sure, one’s heart does not ache for the things one doesn’t know missing. But say what you want, it’s even better to know you didn’t miss.

  Doubt thou the stars are fire;
  Doubt that the sun doth move;
  Doubt truth to be a liar;
  But never doubt I love.

Hamlet_Mamontovas_msg2theming

  And then there’s the “Broadway” type of a comedy of cabaret/burlesque called “Prima Donnas” (Primadonos), by Domino Theatre (I was a little lame not to dig into who built the play or who’s the writer at least). It’s a rare thing for us to get good plays or shows locally, for I live in this smaller town in between two biggest cities in Lithuania – it’s far to go to either. So when chance drops into your lap – you don’t miss it. I took mother to this one, for it was her birth day around that time and what better present than something you can remember forever?

  It all starts with loud music, smokes, colors and two guys dancing a very proper performance. Soon after we figure – they’re our main stars. Two guys who spent many years in Art studies, but they’re both still at the bottom of it – performing at cabaret, dancing in feather boas and glittery jackets. Neither wants that. So when they see the news in paper, that this so-and-so granny is dying and only wishes to see her grandchildren one last time – they must seize it. At least two millions are on stake… The catch in this plan is that the grandchildren are both female. But as one of the lads said – for two million dollars the question in whether you can pretend to be a woman is only one: which dress will you wear?

  It’s not the classy “and then they fell in love with other grandchildren of this granny, but they got mad at them for pretending just for the money, but then they all fell in love again and forgave each other everything“. There’s a twist there too – the girls, one true granddaughter and a friend of hers (they both helped the granny to find her grandchildren, so neither knows these two rather big girls are actually men), they find out who those two are sooner. And best is – they know those two actors and both are great fans of them!

  It was really well made, funny, with little bit but well used music. Actors were great, fast to react to audience and little mistakes that tend to happen not because of lack of talent, but because of the scene-factors. Like, one of the guys fell off the scene, low scene, I’m sure he didn’t hurt himself, but he was quick to jump up, drop a witty line in response and jump right back up! Really, as my mother said – sad we didn’t get flowers when going there.

PrimaDonnas_1

 

Categories: Little Joys | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

