Ray Loriga – Tokyo Doesn’t Love Us Anymore

Tokyo_doesnt_love_us_anymore

I took this book from the library, for it kept popping into my view, with that familiar author name. Yet, even now I don’t know where I heard the name Ray Loriga, and his book “Tokyo Doesn’t Love Us Anymore” left a very neutral mark for me.

The main hero in this story travels around the World, selling chemistry. It’s meant to erase some specific memories of yours. Want to forget about the school years? Here you go. Want to forget your dead mother? Here’s some more. Hero just goes around, drinking, using drugs, including the same chemistry he’s selling, sleeping with his clients or random people, and at first you don’t get it – what is it? What’s going on? Book is written as if he’s speaking to a woman, telling her he saw her mother, she’s still winning. Telling her about all the stuff he does. And only then you start noticing – now and again he “rewrites” exactly same thing about a person he met before and now meets again. About a person he forgot.

The hero of this book is systematically destroying his own mind. He’s trying to forget the woman he loved madly. And it’s not the “Spotless mind…” thing, it’s more of “Spider Jerusalem” thing – he pumps drugs, one thing after another, there’s plenty of alcohol and eventually the holes in his head grow bigger. Right up until we, with him, find ourselves in a hospital room. With same Berlin behind the window, same one he sees for the very first time every day. And it’s not exactly that they care for him and therefor try to heal him. No. The people he worked for, The Company, they simply want to know what happened when he went rogue, for he did. Who killed his substitute, where are the memory erasing drugs now, what, where, who, why?

At the very end of the book we know more than our hero does. And while I’d say that book is written well, but is not that interesting, I could also say – book is written poorly, but is very interesting. I’m left neutral to it. I’m glad I’ve read it, but I just can’t rate it. I’d give it a 3 out of 5, just to stay neutral – neither good, nor bad. And if I get a chance to read more of this author’s work, then I will do so.

Categories: Books: Everything | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

