Some are mad, some are lazy

Well, at least I’ve been reading, right? I’m too lazy to even watch True Blood new series come out, that’s why I kept silent on mondays. But here I am. Decided to just go ahead and force my self to write something, because that still makes more sense than not writing at all.

First of all, through the silence time I finished four more books, one of them being a short story collection by Edgar Allan Poe, and those stories are: 1.  The Fall of the House Usher (a great, very short story); 2. The Murders in the Rue Morgue (not bad piece of detective); 3. A Descent into the Maelstrom (not so good, about a man descending into a whirlpool and surviving it); 4. The Pit and the Pendulum (also, not so good, about a man tortured by inquisition and saved at the last minute); 5. The Gold Bug (a very fine story of pirate treasures); 6. The Spectacles (a very funny story of a short-sighted man); 7. The Purloined Letter (also, not bad piece of a detective, but less good in compare to Rue Morgue); 8. The Cask of Amontillado (the carnival description was the best part, that sums it up); 9. Hop-Frog (a rather scary story, not a bad one, if short and thus not a really good one either).

I knew Poe best as a vampire from Kim Newman‘s work “Anno Dracula 2: Bloody Red Baron“, and there he was superb. And now I can say I’m not disappointed, he is good at what he does. He explains his stories a lot, through narrator telling the story, but not a sentence is boring, everything seems to fit into places really well and in the end it’s a light and good read.

Books_LastMonth

  The next book I finished was “Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness” by Susannah Cahalan. This book should be spread world wide and find a place in every medical school library, for if not the best thing you could read – still the extremely important thing you could read. Especially if you’re a medic. Pretty much, to sum it up, story is a very short biography written by S. Cahalan, a great journalist. And maybe I’m putting this wrong, it’s not exactly HER biography. It’s biography of the illness she had and – thank your and her gods / god – she got cured. It takes not only extreme skill and mind of a doctor to go from “well, she’s schizophrenic, send her to mental hospital, ciao.“, to “lets just see this, just in case, it could be…“. Naturally it takes a hellish amount of money too and you can’t be certain you’ll get better, or worse – even survive it. So what the hell did she get? She got something anyone could get and anyone could be misdiagnosed and sent off without a proper treatment. She was lucky or she was blessed,  you choose, and go read this book. The further the word of this spreads, the better for all. Oh and to answer what did she get, I’ll just put it in the easiest words possible – her body attacked her own brain. Yea, that happens!

The third book I finished was “I am Legend” by Richard Matheson. Let me just say that every movie I saw based on this book in compare to it – sucks hard. The book is brilliant, purely amazing horror-survival, with good and proper vampire lore to admire, with apocalypses without the zombies, but with those more threatening, with minds of their own, with ability to unite against one last enemy… The further you get into this book, the less you wish to close it. It’s a one-day read, if that, even if you are a slow reader as I am. And it’s just so strange, this book was written in 1954, what, barely a little more than half a century after Bram Stoker put out his “Dracula” for public, and yet books differ like day and night. It’s amazing and I loved it.

And the last, fourth book I read and finished is “Pocket atlas of Women” by a polish authoress Sylwia Chutnik. Now that was a true brain wreck, I’ll tell you. At first you’re just horrified. Sarcasm and satirical darkness is flowing from every page, overwhelming. It’s degrading, terrifying and pitiful. But the further you go, the more you see. All four heroines (even the male (gay) one) are called Maria’s (Mary’s, with the man called Marion, which is equivalent of same name in male form), and each one of them has their own crosses to bear. The question is – will they bear it? Some can’t stand it, it’s too hard, too weighty if I may say so, and they just can’t see any way to improve their being, thus the last resort is The End of it all. The other one might choose to lay down under her cross and just wait death with it on top of her. The next one might just pick it all up and go on. While the fourth will fight the very need to bear it. What for? Who said you must?

This very last story, when the fight of the last little woman began, I figured why my brain has been blinking all this time, reading. It reminded me of Salinger‘s “Catcher in the Rye“. You’re boiling inside, you want to scream, cry, yell and roar. But you can’t. And your face is calm. For even if you did – nobody would give a damn, no one would care, no one would understand. No, they might even get angry for disturbing their peaceful obedient lives, the firm order they’re used to. So you pretend to be a mute. No, you don’t even pretend, you BECOME a mute, for there’s just nothing you can tell them. What, will they believe you if you’ll say you had no dreams that night? Will they care if you say school/work was fine? And if they will – do they genuinely care in the first place, or just find it in their duty list to ask and pretend they care?

And that’s why I liked this book. It could be “Pocket atlas of a Human“, for gender specification seemed rather useless to me. But then again, I guess if a man rebels – it’s less surprising than to see a woman burn down a building, right? Still. We ought to remember that no matter what, we’re all humans.

Going further from that, I’m reading probably the last thing I could find of Charlaine Harris on Sookie Stackhouse, which is her short stories collection book, barely 200 pages long, called “A Touch of Dead“. So far so good. Reading very first story on how Claudette died, eldest of the fae triplets (with brother Claude and sister Claudine). More interesting for me were the authoress’s introduction to all the stories. One is called “Dracula Night” or something similar, and it claims that Eric Northman celebrates Dracula’s birthday every year, for he’s his hero! Eric, you just gained a fat approval point from me. We’ll see how it goes tho.

A_Touch_of_dead_Erik_Dracula

  Some time around I finished one long-time-made-beads pair of earrings and am rather proud of them. Called them “hanged gold“, for the little loop I made on top of the earring. Other than that I did clean my jewelry box (imagine, I have one. Altho you are probably not surprised, for you probably think you know who or what I am, right?), and finally, after a whole year, I found the keys from my safe-box. I thought I lost them forever, thou in the back of my brain I knew I put them somewhere where it seemed quite safe to put them.

Hanged_Gold_SK

  At the moment I’m trying to finish Da Vinci’s Demons series and am still watching True Blood. But there’s a whole line of things I must watch for this or that reason and thing is, I kinda miss watching Anime, but because of all the series (many of them being worthless), I just have no time to spare. Oh, and naturally, I’m now a proud owner of many Steam games, like Legendary Edition of Skyrim, and Ultimate Edition of Dragon Age: Origins, and four games of Assassin’s Creed (the first one with Altair and the three of Ezio’s). Time is scarce!

Oh, okay, and lets not forget that suddenly I’m thrown into the world of Haruki Murakami, as I bought my very first book of his, which is “A Wild Sheep Chase“. Before I began reading it, I did what I usually do – I googled it. And found out that it’s third book out of four (trilogy + ), so naturally I went head over heels trying to get the first two, for I will just feel terrible with my stupid OCD, if I start from the middle AGAIN. For that happened before, quite a few times. And with the book club book, I ended up having three books in line, reading one paper book, and thus having that paper book of Murakami in line with e-books. That’s a messed up sentence, let me re-think that… I try my best to read as many paper books as I can, for I own a lot, and I just want to either get rid of some, or be able to visit library more often again without the pressure in my consciousness “hey, you have a ton of books home, what the hell are you doing??“. So as I have third book out of four in paper, I ended up requiring some kind of e-books of the first two, making third book unavailable to read right now. Hm. Doesn’t seem any clearer, so I’ll leave it at that, okay?

Alright, so for now that’ll be that. I’ll take pictures of the books I hunted down last month and filled my home library with AGAIN. Let me just say that it includes a very old copy of Sleepy Hollow (or is it “Headless Huntsman” afterall? )

Categories: About Msg2TheMing, Books, Creations, Games, Vlad Dracula III | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

