Cheri and the Horrors

Let me start by telling you a tale of “buy three for the price of one” sales on books. It’s extra-hard for me to pass these ever since I was 11 years old, when I first bought two books worth 12 dollars for barely 4 dollars, left from my lunch. This time, few days ago to be specific, I bought a fourth Hellsing manga, “I am Legend” and “Cheri“, all three attached together. I didn’t know what this “Cheri” is, but I figured – it’s together with two vampire stories, it can’t be that bad, right?

Colette_EN_LT

Lithuanian and English

 

So I took it to be read first, before Legend, before Hellsing (that one I’ve read a long time ago, I just didn’t have my own copy). No vampires, I’ll say, altho there was a single mention of them, when Leya called herself a vampiress, craving the young body of Cheri (Fred). It’s not the “wow, that was good” type of the book, but I have no regrets in owning it. Why? Well, because Leya, mother of Cheri, and all their friends are also courtesans. It’s just terribly interesting for me to watch what those women can make out of a man in life and I’m never disappointed. Mind you, I don’t find this profession anywhat worse than any other. Where there’s a demand, there’s offer, thus if the women are “vile” for doing this – shouldn’t you start by getting to the demanders? Anyways, so that’s that, a fine book. I presume I missed those stories of fancy hats, tights vests tie pins.

Right after finishing it I went for watching the movie. Mind you, I’m not the type who sits down and watches something easily. Either lure me with amazing things, or I’ll escape the first chance I get. Funny thing, what lured me in “Cheri” movie were the details all around them. The green with gold glass goblets, the fully gold covered tea cups, the wide wine-red smoking-robes, the previously mentioned hats and all those aging courtesans. They followed the book pattern really well, for one of them indeed seemed a cross-dressed man (maybe she was indeed a he, I didn’t check the actor list), and the other one had a really fake looking wig.

Cheri_1

Cheri_4

 

Cheri_2

Cheri_3

  One thing was terribly odd for me tho. It’s a narrated movie. Like some “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory“. If it was at least narrated by a woman it maybe wouldn’t have felt as if an oompa-loompa was about to jump out and start singing.

  The other thing is – congratulate me! I finished first season of “American Horror Story“. And it wasn’t good. I’m told the second one is by far better, but first one knocked the will out of me to watch on further, so I’ll put it on the tab for next week. As for now, lets figure what’s what, shall we?

  Okay, so there’s this fancy old house, suspiciously cheap. Tourist-lurers keep bellowing – it’s a MURDER house! And it is. You move in – you die. No, first you somehow, for some weird-ass reason decide you want a baby. Then a thing in spandex suit or what it was, comes to help out on that. Then you figure you’re growing a demon baby in thy womb, as if priests weren’t terrified of you being a woman in the first place. Then – everyone dies. Usually killed by ghosts who died there before. For if you die there – you cannot leave. Ever. And that house is CRAWLING with ghosts of crazy people, I tell you. Some died because of hate crimes, others – for infidelity, others more – suicided and so on. They love, they hate and most of all – they all want your baby. Oh, and they want their house back, so just pop that thing out and get the hell out or else…

  So that’s that – murder, lots of murder, pretty much – you wasn’t excited enough about my new vase! – stab, stab, stab! Then there’s rape and infidelity. Then there’s psychotic teens and creepy little kids. Oh and did I mention everyone keeps killing everyone?

  First serie – awesome. Second – o-kay. Third – …not so much anymore. Last serie was quite alright tho, that’s why I didn’t ditch the idea of giving second season a chance some time later.

AHS_1ahs_2

  Let’s return a bit to the topic of books, for I didn’t mention one more. I happen to be a secret lover of all kinds of Asia involving books, even if it’s purest fiction of all fiction, with realms that aren’t ours. Thus if I see a sale or other cheap little book (I try to cut down on book buying. You should see my home, really, it’s pure gain to buy less damn paper books…), I get it. This time I got Ihara Saikaku book “Five Women who Loved Love“. First two stories were a disappointment and I was cursing my stupid head to buy a book with such a suspicious title in the first place. But then the last three made it worth my while.

  It’s all about… Well, honestly, there’s no one pure topic. I’d say – tragic love – but that’s not it. I’d say – falling in love – but that’s not it either. I’d say – okay, being unfaithful and getting what you deserved for it – but that’s also not true. First two – tragedy, oh tragedy. The girls are insanely young, thus saying “women” is a hard thing for me. And first two do things that I can’t work through my mind. Say, a lover in the dark mixed you up with someone else, you slept through whole activity he took, then woke up and figured you probably love him terribly, thus you should, absolutely, run away with him? Let me just back away, slowly… Or better, some old geezer dropped a pot on your head, messed your hair up, his wife decided you had a little tumble with him and thus began spreading vile rumors on you, you decide that if that’s so, you’ll give her REAL reason to spread rumors and thus again – run off with some weird old man you met once, twice? Sense can begin any time now. And it did, by the way, for next three stories did make sense, by all means. The last one didn’t even end with deaths, and there was even some homesexuality mention (and more) in the last two, which gave the “five women” a little charm. Especially as I always dearly admired samurais and while friends and mates all wanted to be police officers, high ranking military men, professional athletes – hell, I wanted a katana! So there’s that for me.

English, Lithuanian

English, Lithuanian

I did the the little book, it’s also – not the best thing you can get – but definitely not the worst. I also got it quite some time ago, so I can’t figure how I forgot all about it. I guess I just didn’t expect old Japan to be the setting for it. Oh, and let me add, that while stories are short and definitely not the most interesting things you could read – there are these little footnotes and such which speak of those-times-Japan, the culture, traditions and other facts. Those were the best!

 

Categories: Books, Treasures | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

