Rainy Rain

Every year I mark the first summer storm. For me, a true summer storm is when previously hot day suddenly turns black with heavy lead clouds, when wind threatens to tear out the birches behind my window and rain pours down in white waves, blinding you for moments.  We had one of these today, plus some thundering and pinkish lightening ribbons. I have a video here:

  So as the day (and days, as a matter of fact) were rolling by, I was poking at my tablet, downloading tumblr, wordpress, blogspot apps and pushing more books in there. At the moment I’m reading a book by Ruta Sepetys “Between Shades of Gray“. The book was assigned by a friend-organised book club, it’s the first book we’re reading.

RutaSepetys_  Here’s the link to GoodReads: Between Shades of Gray.

It’s a book of a Lithuanian family (and many other Lithuanians) who were taken out by NKVD (communists) to Syberia. Dreadful life, conditions and constant bullying is forced onto them, to break them, their spirit. Every chapter is a short little story on it’s own, thus it’s easy to read and it’s very interesting. And while author is Lithuanian, the book is in english, therefor I really recommend it to those not afraid of World War topics.  I’ll add that original is in english, so it’s not even a translation. I’m always pro-original if I can read the language.

From book-club friends I found out that there are more parts of this book (well, not this particular story, but this TYPE of story told by R.S.), so I’m passing down the link to the next book: Out of the Easy. Now this book confuses me a little, it’s of similar topic, therefor I and we say “second book”, but it’s a whole different thing. Story rolls in French Quarter of New Orleans, Louisiana  which is always awesome read about, isn’t it? But as I haven’t read this book, I can’t yet say whether it’s as good or not. Tho a friend of mine, whom I call vampiress, the founder of this club, says it was great. I’ll trust her on that for now, and later we’ll see.

Here’s the general short summary on author:  Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. Her award-winning debut novel, “Between Shades of Gray” was inspired by her family’s history in Lithuania and is published in 40 countries. Her new novel, “Out of the Easy” is set in the French Quarter of New Orleans in 1950. A historical tale of secrets and lies, “Out of the Easy” is a haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee.

On other things, as many fans already know, 8th season of Supernatural has ended. Now we’ll wait to September or October for the 9th. Is it the last one? Sad. But on the other hand, this is the longest series I have ever watched. Plus, there are some Supernatural books too (not the way as in series), which I intend to read, so maybe all for the best. Tho I will miss Sam and Dean. And Cas, obviously. And Felicia Day too. Tho last serie with her wasn’t too great, still better than nothing.  

supernatural

Vikings ended first season too. I’m all for another, tho I didn’t check when it’ll be out. It ended up pretty neatly, and whole scenery is so gorgeous that I wouldn’t even notice if all the people disappeared.  Again, I didn’t even check where it was filmed, for I have my doubts on “authentic places” they keep mentioning. Altho as a sibling from baltics, I tell you, we got all that here. The hills, the fens, the tall beautiful pines…

This will never end coz I want more… More, give me more, give me more.

images

images (1)

images (2)

If I had heart I could love you…

Oh, and Bones so far ended as well. But on a lighter tune – soon we’ll have another season of True Blood, plus there’s a new book out on Sookie Stackhouse adventures. Series with J.R. Meyers (The King from The Tudors) as Dracula are starting sometime soon too. Of this one I’m slightly afraid. I always liked the character of Dracula, but even more I admire the true man behind the name, Vlad Draculea, so naturally, I’m a bit afraid there’ll be thousands of screaming fan girls to annoy the very hell out of me… But we’ll see how it goes.Am watching Hannibal at the moment – not too impressed, sadly. Nothing too special about it, somehow, nothing captures me. I’m not the person to sit down and watch, so I need to be captured soon into the rolling story. I’m still watching Nurse Jackie too, by the way, that one also is growing worse with every season. I miss the woman with bad back, this woman who’s a former drug addict, who feels no more pain, while she was swearing on everything, that while she wants to get high, but pain is true too, this woman with teen-daughter problem and so many men falling in love with her new, drug-free attitude is not too interesting.  That’s that for now…

Categories: About Msg2TheMing, Books, Vlad Dracula III | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

